Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Honeybee picture

In almost every single area of my life right now I am being asked to wait. It’s such a joy…Ha! This is a different time of waiting for me because it’s not a case of confusion, or indecision about what needs to happen, it’s simply knowing with every fiber of my being that now is not the time. I am being called to wait. Let me tell you…it’s hard. Some days I am great with resting in the arms of my Savior and other days it feels like the next step is a million light years away. I am sure though that one day I will be able to say, “Behold, this is our God for whom we have waited that He might save us. This is the LORD for whom we have waited; Let us rejoice and be glad in His salvation.” This is Isaiah 25:9 and it is a favorite for me right now. This verse assures me that my God’s plan is worth waiting for. This verse excites me and helps me to remember that one day I will be looking back at this time of waiting as a mere glimpse compared to God visibly showing Himself mighty on my behalf. I can look ahead with faith, see the day and go ahead and rejoice knowing that I am waiting for the Lord and He always delivers!

Isaiah 25:1 says, “O LORD, Thou art my God; I will exalt Thee, I will give thanks to Thy name; For Thou hast worked wonders, Plans formed long ago, with perfect faithfulness.” I can rest assured in the waiting that God is still working His plan out in perfect faithfulness. I love this verse as well. It reminds me that God has everything under control, especially the timing.

Honestly though, I don’t like living in limbo. It’s just not something I strive for. Melissa and Limbo Land have never gotten along; but, through the power of the Holy Spirit, this time I can wait well. I want to be strong in the waiting. Isaiah 40:29 says, “He gives strength to the weary, And to him who lacks might He increases power.”

Very few things make me more tired than waiting. How about you? Waiting in a doctor’s office, waiting for test results, waiting for the next plane connection…shew! I’m tired just thinking about waiting. Waiting can simply wear us out! But, Isaiah tells us that we can be strong because God makes us strong. Verse 31 of this same chapter tells us how. It says, “Yet those who wait for the LORD will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.” I remember Beth Moore pointing out several years ago that when our focus is right, our strength is right. When we are focused on an event, or an expectation, we grow weary and exhausted. BUT, when our focus is the Lord, we gain strength. That’s the secret. That’s how to be strong in the waiting. Focus on the Lord.

So, I don’t know if you are in the waiting stage, or the stage where every goal is falling into place quickly, but know that as long as your focus is the Lord you can be strong. This should be our goal…to be strong in the waiting and in the receiving. Whichever the Lord is allowing in our lives at any given moment, I pray that our focus would be Him alone knowing that we are to be stong in Him and the power of His might (Ephesians 6:10).

Seeking Hearts Ministries

