Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

worried girl on bed image.jpg                                                      *image by odysseyonline.com

I was in Bible study a few weeks ago and was asked the question, “What do you most fear in your relationship with God?” The writer gave the examples of God not loving us, or that we’re not saved, etc., but what came to my mind was I am so scared that I will not be who He wants me to be. The last thing on this earth I want to be is a disappointment to the God of the universe, the very One who designed me for such a time as this. I’ve heard all the verses about Him loving me no matter what and that He is never disappointed because He is never surprised, but I’m just telling you what I thought in the moment.

So many times in my life I will have a doubt that will pop up and I cram it down thinking that “good Christians” don’t think things like that when in reality God’s Spirit just wants me to bring it to the light and let Him deal with it. So, that’s what I’m doing today.

The next part of the study I was doing asked us to get a Scripture that combats that particular fear. I thought to myself, “If I had a Scripture, I wouldn’t be having this issue.” I didn’t even really know how to find the Scripture. I mean, what kind of word study could you do on the fear of not being who God wants you to be?

Not even an hour later, I was reading through some Psalms trying to hear what God wanted me to say for the family blog I write on Mondays when I came across this gem – “The LORD will accomplish what concerns me; Thy lovingkindness, O LORD, is everlasting; Do not forsake the works of Thy hands.” – Psalm 138:8

As I read this verse I took a deep breath and remembered once again that as long as I am saying, “yes” to Him continually, everything else takes care of itself. I don’t have to worry with whether I get it right. He gets it right. Every.Single.Time.

Why do I forget that it’s all about resting in Him? Why do I forget that when I abide in Him He takes care of the rest? He will accomplish whatever needs to be accomplished. It’s all up to Him, not me! Praise you, Lord! As I walk daily with my God, as I abide in Him, all that He wants accomplished through me will happen. He will not be disappointed in me because He will accomplish what concerns me.

Rest in that today. Remember, just keep saying, “Yes”. Keep abiding. Keep falling back into His arms. He will never leave you, or forsake you (Hebrews 13:5). His love will never fail. His Word is true. No worries on getting it right every time, just peace that passes all understanding. Breathe today. He’s got you.

My Story     Seeking Hearts Ministries

