Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

image of new

Yesterday, as I was seated in the orthodontist office waiting for my youngest to be finished I saw a beautiful little girl. She was cute as a speckled pup and I couldn’t resist exchanging smiles with her over and over. Of course, I had to ask her mom her name and she replied, “Arabella”. Isn’t that beautiful? But, that’s not the point. The point is when we said her name she lit up. She knew that we were talking about her and she liked it!

It made me think of another incident this week on a television show called “Agents of Shield”. One of the people who were endowed with special powers was simply performing on the street until someone gave him a name. After he realized his “powers” were something worth being named, he became a totally different person. As the good guys were trying to subdue him, he said, “I am Scorch” and the main guy looked at another agent and said, “Oh no, someone gave him a name.”

I think that’s exactly what the devil says when we understand who we are in Christ. When we start knowing and calling ourselves “Redeemed”, “Beloved”, “Son”, “Daughter” I think he sits on his heels and thinks, “Well, it’s over now. They know their name.”

Second Corinthians 5:17 says, “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.” If everything about us has changed, you know our name has as well. This is God’s way. Remember Abram? Probably not as well as Abraham. Sarai? She is now named Sarah.  Jacob? He’s Israel. Simon? He’s Peter? Saul of the New Testament? Paul. God has changed everything about you, including your name.

So, what might your name be? Might it be “Forgiven?” Of course it is. When you ask, you are indeed forgiven (First John 1:9). “Dearly Loved?” Yes, that too (First John 4:10). “Wanted”? Song of Solomon 7:10 says, “I am my beloved’s and his desire is for me.” You are all of these things and more.

So, who are you in Christ? Ask Him to whisper it to your soul. Ask Him to seep it into the marrow of your bones. Ask Him to let you hear Him sing it over you tonight and then wear your name well, dear one. Wear it well because you have a new name and as soon as you know it, you will become the powerful warrior that God called into existence the minute you received Him. Hear Him call your name. You will never be the same.

Seeking Hearts Ministries

My Story

