Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

woman breathing

How many of us are barely breathing? Hyperventilating through life? At this time of year, when things are supposed to be so joyous, how many of us are simply taking short little breaths to just get us through the day? I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of barely breathing. I want to live a life full of clean air. I want the weight off my chest and my lungs to be filled with oxygen, not just any oxygen, but the Breath of Life filling every nook and cranny.

When we are in hyperventilating mode, we can survive, but just. When we are hyperventilating, we are so busy just trying to breathe nothing else can be accomplished. This is not the abundant life Jesus told us about in John 10:10. I’ve been learning a lot lately about big joyful and I am finding that a big joy stealer in hyper-ventilating through life.

So, what is hyper-ventilating exactly? According to Medline Plus, hyperventilating is “rapid or deep breathing that can occur with anxiety or panic. It is also called over breathing, and it may leave you feeling breathless.” Overbreathing? Hmmm…I thought it was under-breathing. Interesting. So, maybe hyperventilating through life is more about me trying to do someone else’s job instead of not getting enough of something?  

When Someone is breathing for you, when The Holy Spirit inside of you is filling you with His breath, His life, but you are still trying to breathe on your own, hyperventilating occurs. This is when I gasp through life, but when I rest in Him and allow His breath to flow through my body, all is well. When I try to breathe when He is already breathing for me? It’s hyperventilating time. My body is fighting itself because of all the “help” I’m giving it.  Hyperventilating through life boils down to a lack of trust.

When we freak out, we hyper-ventilate. Our bodies try to pull in too much oxygen too quickly. When we forget to breathe, we get short of breath and when we over breathe, over think, over analyze we hyperventilate. Trying to help God is just as dangerous as forgetting to breathe Him in.

You might be wondering if the breath of God can be trusted? The short answer is yes, but here’s some assurances:

Exodus 15:10 tells us that God breathed destruction over the enemies of His people. This verse assures us that when we are on God’s side, we can allow His breath to do the job for us. Our job is to listen, obey and rest in Him. No freaking out, just allow His breath in us to do its perfect work.

Ezekiel 37 is another great example of what the breath of God can do. We see in this passage that dead bones can be made alive again when the breath of God reaches them. Talk about hope! What’s more impossible than death? This passage assures us that nothing is impossible with the breath of God. Everything can be made alive again! Your marriage, your children, your health…nothing is impossible when God breathes over the situation.

Another beautiful picture of breath is in First Kings 10:5. Here we see the Queen of Sheba’s breath being taken away when she saw all of King Solomon’s splendor. Our King is even greater than king Solomon and we can rest assured that when we see the provision of our King, our breath will we taken away as well. Stop a moment to breathe Him in. Allow Him to speak to you about the provision He has in store for you. King David says in Psalm 27:13, “I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.” We lose hope if we don’t stop and allow Him to show us His provision. Allow His breath in you to blow you away today.

Job 33:4, says, “The Spirit of God has made me, and the breath of the Almighty gives me life.” When we truly know that we are in God’s hands, we are at peace. When we remember that God is the giver and taker of life, we can rest in Him, breathe deeply and stop hyperventilating. He has us in the palm of His hand and that is the safest place to be.

So, let’s stop trying to help God this Season. Let’s allow Him to breathe His life giving peace through us. Let’s feel His strength and wisdom fill up every nook and cranny and let’s forget how to hyperventilate and rest in Him instead.  Let’s choose His breath today.

My Story

Seeking Hearts Ministries

