Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

man with gun photo for blog

What a question, “Does God create serial killers?” The short answer is, “No”, but if you believe in the sovereignty of God, the answer must also be, “Yes”. What do I mean? The sovereignty of God says that everything is ultimately under the control of God. It says that nothing is allowed in a believer’s life that is not for their good and anything allowed will always allow them to draw closer to their Creator. When we believe in the sovereignty of God, we acknowledge that there is evil, but we also know that God has evil on a leash.

So, again, the question can be raised, “Does God create serial killers?”

While I do not believe that God creates anyone for a sinful purpose, I also believe that God allows us to choose who we become. It’s that whole freewill thing. Most of us have a love-hate relationship with freewill. We like it when it suits us, but when others make a choice that affects us in a negative way, we wonder why God didn’t stop it.

The free will of man is a complicated thing for me. I like it when I’m making the choices, but when others are…not so much. When someone is going to make a decision that will hurt my family, I catch myself wondering why God allowed it? I can’t see the good immediately, so I assume there is no good. I often think God should step in right before something terrible happens to my family, or friends. Do you admit being the same way?

If we really had control over freewill, would it be better utilized? If we could stop and start it, what would we do? When would we rein freewill in? Would it be before someone was born who would make a poor decision? Would you choose to simply not let them be born? What about their parents? Didn’t their parents have something to do with an innocent child growing up to become a serial killer, or a rapist, or a suicide bomber? So, would you not allow the parents to be born as well? What about the grandparents of a serial killer? Didn’t they have some part in rearing a set of parents that would then rear a serial killer? Do you see the cycle? Where would it end?

If we stopped allowing children to be born who would make wrong choices, what would be considered acceptable? If you were going to be a rapist, a serial killer, or a gang banger you’re out? What about a drunk driver, or a drug dealer? What about a gossip, or a thief? Again, I ask, “When would it end?”

Why doesn’t God just stop someone from being born who will make a decision that will hurt others, especially someone who will become a serial killer? Did God not realize they would make that decision? Was He surprised? Of course He wasn’t surprised, so why did He create them? Why were they allowed to be born if He knew they would choose to kill others?

I don’t even pretend to have all the answers to these questions, but this I know, my God is sovereign and He is a good God who has my back. Does that mean I will always like what comes my way? No, but it does mean that I can rest in Him knowing that He is working to produce good in everything that He allows in my life. I may not see it, but I trust that it is there. Romans 8:28 assures me that my trust is not wasted.

After all, who is to say what one life given in sacrifice at the altar of a serial killer wouldn’t end with hundreds coming to receive Christ if it gave the family a platform to proclaim the forgiveness of Christ? Isaiah 55:8-9 tells us that God’s ways are higher than our ways and His thoughts are not our thoughts. Can this hold true even in the face of evil? Of course it can and it does.

I think it’s good to think and ask questions that can sometimes shake our faith if we aren’t careful. When the hard stuff comes up, we sometimes sweep it under the rug and choose to think about it “tomorrow”, but tomorrow never comes and then that rug gets swept out from under us when crisis hits. Let’s remember that God can handle our questions. Let’s ask Him to teach us even the hard things. Let’s ask Him to blow our minds with the wonder of who He is so that our faith can grow stronger and not weaker in the face of adversity.

So, now I’ll ask you. Why do you think God allows serial killers to be born? Maybe you don’t even think He has control over any of it, or just part of it. Let me know what you think, so we can learn together.

As I end my musings of this crazy question, I want to leave you with a few things I know for sure: One, God’s ways are not my ways and His thoughts are so much greater than my thoughts. Two, I am so glad I am not God. I would make a mess of it. Three, my God is sovereign and I trust Him. And four, I am safe in the arms of my Savior.

I am so glad our God is always willing for us to ask Him the hard questions. He is the best Teacher of all. Let’s praise Him today!

My Story

Seeking Hearts Ministries

 

