Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Honeybee Image 2

Jeremiah 17:4 says, “And you will, even of yourself, let go of your inheritance that I gave you…”

Letting go of your inheritance. Sounds sad. Sounds like me. The people of Judah gave away their inheritance of their own accord. Nothing was forcibly taken from them; they just handed it right over. Yep, sounds just like me. God has given me joy, patience, love, peace, His presence and I just let go of it. No one forces me to. No one holds me at gun point. I just simply act like I’ve never received an inheritance at all.

Galatians 5:22 and 23 says, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such there is no law.” That’s our inheritance, but how often do we allow a situation in our lives to dictate whether we live in that inheritance? How often do we give away our peace to a doctor who gives us news we were hoping against? How often do we give away our patience simply because something took a little longer than we wanted? And, self-control? Ha! How often have we (read me) allowed someone else’s cravings for a snack ruin our goals for the day? That’s laying down our inheritance. That’s throwing back in God’s face the abundant life that He has for us today (John 10:10).

I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of living like I have not been given an inheritance. I’m tired of wondering how my day is going to be. When we live in our inheritance, we don’t have to wonder. We know. We know that whatever comes our way, we will still have our peace. We know that whatever ruckus comes up in our homes, we will continue to have gentleness. When the going gets tough, we know that we will stay faithful. Why? Because that’s our inheritance and we are not letting go of it.

I think as Christians we often get caught up in the thought of heaven being our inheritance. It most definitely is, but we also have an inheritance as God’s child here on this earth. Psalm 27:13 says, “I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.”

God wants us to have His goodness now. God wants us to see Him today, on this earth, in the land of the living. God wants us to not despair and lose hope in this moment, not just in the great beyond. His fullness, His joy, His love flowing through us. That’s our inheritance. That’s our provision. Let’s not give it away.

Seeking Hearts Ministries

