Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Honeybee picture

“Every time I faltered, God steadied me. It’s just that He used other people’s hands.” This was in the book I was finishing this morning, the morning after I had received an e-mail that a friend’s father had given up hope. Her father’s disease is not life threatening, but it is super serious in regards to quality of life. He has been given an opportunity to turn things around and is skeptical. (I totally get that. I was one of those who were born saying, “Are you really my momma?” Don’t judge, some of us are just wired that way.)

When I woke up this morning, before my head even rose from the pillow I was reminded of Exodus 17. I was reminded that there was a time in Moses’ life where he was beat down, exhausted and needed some brothers to hold his arms up for the ensuing battle. Exodus 17:9-12 says, “And Moses said unto Joshua, Choose us out men, and go out, fight with Amalek: tomorrow I will stand on the top of the hill with the rod of God in mine hand. So Joshua did as Moses had said to him, and fought with Amalek: and Moses, Aaron, and Hur went up to the top of the hill. And it came to pass, when Moses held up his hand, that Israel prevailed: and when he let down his hand, Amalek prevailed. But Moses’ hands were heavy; and they took a stone, and put it under him, and he sat thereon; and Aaron and Hur stayed up his hands, the one on the one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun.”

I knew in my heart of hearts that this was what I was called to do for my friend’s father. He was beat down. He had lost hope and was scared to hope again. But…now I know that I am called to hold one of his arms up for the ensuing battle. I’m going to e-mail my friend and see if she is willing to do the same.

Ecclesiastes 4:12 tells us that a cord of three strands is not easily broken and I often forget that. I’m honestly such a loner that I excuse myself from that verse by saying that the strand Solomon (the writer of Ecclesiastes) was talking about is God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. In some cases it can be, but often I forget that my brother, or sister, in Christ really could use someone to raise their hands up. Notice I did not say that I should help them reach to me. I need to help them reach all the way up to the only True Hope…God Himself.

Lamentations 3:24 says, “The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.” We need to remind each other that our hope is the Lord, not what we expect Him to do, but the Lord Himself. Hope in something other than God is not sure, but hope in God is never wrong.

Sometimes, our arms grow tired and we need each other to help us reach out to our only True Source of strength and stability.We need each other, but often we turn away unconcerned that someone has lost hope. We think it’s just another casualty in this battle of life, sadly shake our head at their demise and pray it doesn’t happen to us. But, let’s ask the Holy Spirit to change our perspective. Let’s ask Him to give us His eyes to see those He would have us to encourage. Let’s look around in new determination and ask God today who needs their hands raised. There are many battles raging around us. Many have lost hope. Let’s see who we can inspire today.

O, God of all hope, we pray today that you would inspire each one of us to look around with Your eyes and see who You would have us to encourage. Give us wisdom in how to raise their hands for their particular battle. Help us to be Your mighty warriors, willing to go into someone else’s battle to help them come out victorious in Your Name. 

Seeking Hearts Ministries

