Tags

, , , , , , , ,

                          

                          

I hear  there was a lunar eclipse Wednesday morning. I wouldn’t personally know because I slept right through it. I am usually up at that time (it was 5:30 in my time zone), but that morning I slept right on without a care in the world. I thought it would be awesome to wake up and see this remarkable phenomenon of God’s creation, but obviously I didn’t care enough to set an alarm. In fact, I had planned on waking up my youngest son so we could experience it together. He was excited, but didn’t care enough to set his alarm either. Apparently, we both preferred sleep.

As we went about our day, I wondered how often I have missed God’s voice because I was simply asleep. How often have I missed a great work of God because I chose slumber instead?

Physically speaking, there have been many times throughout my life when I had big plans for morning devotions, but due to late night activities, chose to sleep instead. Lamentations 3 tells us that His mercies are new every morning and I can’t help but wonder what new mercy I missed for those days simply because I viewed sleep as more important.

Spiritually speaking, I know there have been times when God has tried to speak to me, but I was totally asleep. In my daily Christian walk, I have often gone through the motions with no real destination in mind just as a sleep walker would do. I have mistakenly thought because I was checking all my “good girl” boxes I was on the right path. In reality, I was asleep at the wheel.

Psalm 86:8 says, “Lord, there is no one like You among the gods, and there are no works like Yours.” I must ask myself how often I have been asleep instead of viewing the wonders that God has created around me, in me and through me.

When I am asleep spiritually I am not being wise. I am missing out on God’s plan for that time in my life. Ephesians 5:14 says, “Awake, sleeper…Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men, but as wise, making the most of your time…” I am not being sensible when I am asleep. My time is short and I am missing the opportunities that God has for me that day. I need to WAKE UP!

You might remember that I was not the only one who missed out on the eclipse. I also failed to awaken my son. Romans 13:10-12 tells us, “Love does no wrong to a neighbor; love therefore is the fulfillment of the law. And this do, knowing the time, that it is already the hour for you to awaken from sleep; for now salvation is nearer to us than when we believed. The night is almost gone, the day is at hand. Let us therefore lay aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light.”

This verse reminds me that not only do I need to wake up for myself, but also for those around me. Since I chose to sleep through the eclipse, I caused my son to sleep through it as well. Yes, he could have set his own alarm, but he trusted me to help him see it.

How many times have I missed an opportunity to tell my neighbors about Jesus because I was asleep? My own family? How many times have I been numb to the realization that JESUS IS RETURNING and I only have a few days to share Him with others? God has entrusted my neighbors to me to help them find their way to Him, but I find myself tired and wanting more sleep. I am not just drowsy to that fact. I am sound asleep. I need God’s Holy Spirit to wake me up!

I Thessalonians 5:2-6 says, “For you yourselves know full well that the day of the Lord will come just like a thief in the night. While they are saying, ‘Peace and safety!’ then destruction will come upon them suddenly like birth pangs upon a woman with child; and they shall not escape. But you, brethren, are not in darkness, that the day should overtake you like a thief; for you are all sons of light and sons of day. We are not of night nor of darkness; so then let us not sleep as others do, but let us be alert and sober.”

  We do need to be aware from these verses that even when we are awake, others around us may still be sleeping.  I don’t know about you, but my experience tells me that people who are sleeping do not like to be disturbed. We need to remember that people will not like us waking up and they for sure will not like us trying to wake them up, (Christian and non-Christian). No matter what though, we need to be about our Father’s business. We need to wake up ourselves and then help others do the same. Remember, they are groggy from sleep. That means they are most likely grumpy. Keep trying, keep praying and keep sounding the alarm UNTIL they wake up fully.

It may seem like a desperate situation around you right now. In every direction you may only see people asleep. Rest assured God can handle it. We see no more desperate situation than Ezekiel in the valley of dry bones (Ezekiel 37). Those dead, dry bones were no match for the Holy Breath of God. Those brittle, dry, undernourished, sleeping individuals became a mighty army through Ezekiel doing what God called him to do. He was commanded to speak over those bones and God used him to revive the sleepers. So, do not be discouraged. Even if you are the only one awake in your surroundings, keep pressing forward. Keep listening for God’s voice amongst all the snoring and obey His every prompting. You never know when God’s Spirit will break forth, the bones will start rising and a mighty army will prevail.

“Wake up, O sleeper!”

http://Biblical Devotions – Join the Faithful Bloggers!

Please visit the website at – Seeking Hearts

