Honeybee Image 2

                                    A Stressed Out Seeker

Well, to be honest the last week or so I have been highly stressed about a situation (read freaking out). I have been praying and seeking God, but still the mind games have been horrific. You know, the whole “what am I going to do” scenarios. So, in case some of you out there are suffering from the same, I want to share with you the word that God spoke over my heart Wednesday.

In the song “Not Guilty” by Mandisa, the chorus says, “I know you. I love you. I gave my life to save you…” As I was singing along, God clearly said in my spirit, ‘I gave My life for you. Do you really think I don’t have this situation? I’ve got this.’

I can’t explain to you the release I felt. Of course He has this! Of course He still wants me to rest in Him! Of course he does not want me to live a stressed out, freaked out existence! He’s got this! No matter what my feelings are saying, His burden is still easy and His yoke is still light, (Matthew 11:30). God is a God of rest, not stress. I think I need to repeat that… God is a God of rest, not stress. I am so thankful.

My natural instinct is try to figure things out on my own. I think that if I can just figure out this puzzle in front of me (and the reasons behind it) all will be well. I feel like I have to fix things when in reality God does not need my help. In fact, He just needs me to bow my knees to Him and get out of His way so that He can do His perfect work in my situation. When my knees are not bowed to Him, it is almost as if I am holding His Hands hostage due to the fact that He will only do what is best for me and my future (Jeremiah 29:11). If I will get hurt because I am standing up in His way (so to speak) He must wait until I have bowed low to Him. Then, He has His perfect shot (metaphorically speaking, of course) on the circumstances that are wreaking havoc in my life. The quicker I bow, the faster He can work.

Sometimes though, even when I am bowed low to Him, I still fret. My knees are bent in submission, but my mind is still occupied. That’s when I have to remember what His Word says in Psalm 28:8, “The LORD is [the strength of His people] and He is a saving defense to His anointed.” God is a SAVING DEFENSE for me. Why in the world should I be disquieted about anything when God is my defense? The God of the universe has GOT THIS!

Earlier, in verse seven of Psalm 28, it says, “The LORD is my strength and my shield; My heart trusts in Him, and I am helped; Therefore, my heart exults, and with my song I shall thank Him.” This verse reminds me that I am helped by the one, true, all-powerful God when my heart is in a place of trust. It also reminds me that He is my strength. I don’t know about you, but worrying wears me out. This verse assures me that when my trust is placed in Him, my strength is restored. Isaiah 40:31 assures us of this as well. It says, “Yet those who wait for the LORD will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.” Yet again, I see here that when I am in a place of rest with God, I am at peace and I am strengthened. When I am waiting for His work and not my own, I am renewed.

Watchman Nee describes this so well in his book “Sit, Walk, Stand”. He says, “Most Christians make the mistake of trying to walk in order to be able to sit, but that is a reversal of the true order. Our natural reason says, ‘If we do not walk, how can we ever reach the goal? What can we attain without effort? How can we get anywhere if we do not move?’ But Christianity is a queer business! If at the outset we try to do anything, we get nothing; if we seek to attain something, we miss everything.” He goes on to say that God has already completed His work in our life, so we are to sit in Him. What does that mean exactly? Pastor Nee says, “Sitting is an attitude of rest. Something has been finished, work stops and we sit…When we walk or stand, we bear on our legs all the weight of our own body; but when we sit down our entire weight rests upon the chair or couch on which we sit. We grow weary when we walk or stand, but we feel rested when we have sat down for awhile. In walking or standing we expend a great deal of energy, but when we are seated we relax at once, because the strain no longer falls upon our muscles and nerves, but upon something outside of ourselves. So, also in the spiritual realm, to sit down is simply to rest our whole weight – our load, ourselves, our future, our everything – upon the Lord.”

How beautiful is that? He invites us to sit with Him in His finished work because He has everything handled already. It’s completed. It’s finished and it’s perfect. He’s GOT THIS! Let Him have it.

