Tags

, , , , ,

                                                                                 Honeybee Image 2        

 

                                 Trust – part 1

Today, I want us to think about trust. More specifically, our trust in the Lord.

Do we trust Him?

How much do we trust Him?

If I am not trusting how do I change that?

Is He worthy of our trust?

You know, the basics. Sometimes though, the basics are the toughest, deepest truths of our Christian walk.

We need to remember first of all that trust is all about relationship. We cannot trust someone we do not know. When my husband and I first married, I didn’t know him like I know him now. If we were taking a walk in the woods and came across a rickety looking bridge and he told me to cross it, I would not have done so. In fact, I would have insisted on calling my dad to check if it were safe! But now, I know he is trustworthy. I know that if he tells me the bridge is safe to cross, it is. I still might not like crossing the bridge, but I will do it because the man that I trust says it’s fine. What has changed? The time that I have spent getting to know him.

The same is true with my relationship with God. When I first received Him as Savior, I did not know Him as I do now. I trust Him more because we are further along in our journey together. That’s why learning about God is so important. We will never know Him fully. There is always more to learn, but that’s why it’s so fun! God is never boring. It is vital that we learn about who He is from the truth of His Word. We cannot take another person’s opinion about who He is. We must discover Him for ourselves.

So in order to trust, I must spend time with my Savior, I must seek Him with all of my heart and soul. Jeremiah 29:13 says, “And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for me with all your heart.”

That’s the first checkpoint of trust. Am I building my relationship with God daily? Am I learning more of who He is on a regular basis? Trust comes naturally when we are learning about who God is.

The second checkpoint of trust is praise. Lily Mae Gould said, “They that trust the Lord find many things to praise Him for. Praise always follows trust.” Do you see the correlation? If I’m trusting, I’m praising. If I’m not praising, I must not be trusting.

I have found this to be so true. When I have the right perspective, I see God’s provision even if it does not come as I expect. When I do not have the right perspective, when I do not see things from a place of trust, even when He does provide for my need, I do not see it. Why? My perception is wrong. My blinders of distrust are coloring my world.

Psalm 34:1 says, “I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” Am I praising? If not, I am not in a place of trust.

Elizabeth Elliot said, “God does many things which we do not understand…a true faith [true trust] must rest solidly on God’s character and His Word, not on our particular conceptions of what He ought to do.”

When I know the God of the Word, I know that even though He may not do something like I think it should be done, He can still be trusted.

Mother Teresa said, “If we really fully belong to God, then we must be at His disposal and we must trust in Him. We must never be preoccupied with the future. There is no reason to be. God is there.”

Living in a place of complete trust allows me to be at peace with the future. Why? God is there preparing the way. But, the really beautiful thing about God is that He is also here, helping me and guiding me in this moment. Hebrews 13:5 says that He will never leave us or forsake us. We have heard often that God is omnipresent (present everywhere all the time) but we forget the beautiful truth that it represents. God is everywhere all the time! No need to worry or fret. God is there… and here. We can trust Him for every moment.

My third checkpoint of trust? Am I fearing the future? If I am, my trust is off. Do I pray about the future? Absolutely; but, the anxiety is not present because I am trusting in the God of the future.

My fourth checkpoint of trust is am I willing to take the next step without knowing the full journey? Did you all feel me shrink down into my seat? This is a hard one for me. As I’ve told you before, I am a roadmap girl. But, when I am in a true place of trust, I am willing to take whatever step God directs without knowing the outcome.

Joni Eareckson Tada said, “Great [trust] isn’t the ability to believe long and far into the misty future. It’s simply taking God at His word and taking the next step.”

Trust is all about simply taking the next step with God. Isaiah 30:21 says, “And your ears will hear a word behind you, ‘This is the way, walk in it,’ when you turn to the right or to the left.”

I especially love the next quote by Hannah Whitall Smith. She said, “It is the law of spiritual life that every act of trust makes the next act less difficult.”

When we keep taking step after step with our Lord, we know that He is worthy of our trust. We know that He is who He says He is in Scripture and that makes the next step easier, even if it is a step in the dark. When we know God’s character we remember that He is light and in Him is no darkness AT ALL. I John 1:5 assures us of that.

There is so much more to say on the subject of trust, but for the rest of this week let’s ponder the questions, “Do I trust God?” and “How much do I trust God?” Next week, we will study more of the Word to find out, “How do I trust Him more?” and “Is He worthy of my trust?”

Let me just close by encouraging you to pray for an open heart about trust issues that you may have. Let The Holy Spirit infiltrate your heart and show you ways that He wishes to grow you in the area of trust.

I also encourage you to meditate on I John 1:5 this week. It says, “This is the message that we have heard from Him and announce to you, that God is light, and in Him there is no darkness at all.” Our God is indeed worthy of our trust.

