Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Wells Too Deep

Hope for the Spiritually Dehydrated

Image

  Water… we all need it. Some of us hate that fact and some of us are okay with it, but all of us know that we must have water to quench our thirst.

Over the course of my life my feelings have changed regarding water. When I was little, I would drink it, but I really preferred other things. When I was a little older, water was seldom on the menu. After a few years, water became a necessary evil. I knew I had to drink it, but, “yuck”. I would feel extremely bloated after drinking a few glasses throughout the day. I simply thought that I was a person who didn’t care for water. In present days…I GUZZLE water. I love it. I can’t imagine not having water! I have days after a run when I drink so much water you would be shocked. I love it!

There are some days though, days when I have been too long without a drink that I must sip water or, it’s too much for my system. If I were to guzzle water at that point, it would do more harm than good. It would cause my body to release even more hydration and I would keep getting weaker. Of course, we know this as dehydration.

We’ve seen athletes get dehydrated. We have even seen some athletes become so dehydrated that they faint. The medical staff does not run over and pour water down their throat. No, they gently see to their needs and give them sips of hydration. Sometimes, an I.V. is required and once again the liquid has a slow release into the body. This is the only way the athlete can get better. A slow release is much better at this point than a waterfall. A gentle drink is much better than wolfing it down. Their body is craving a drink, but it must be taken in slowly.

Sometimes, this is what our Great Physician must do with us. We are so spiritually dehydrated that He must lay us back into His arms. He allows us to sip at His wellspring of life drop by drop, sip by sip, so that we are able to get stronger and keep running our race. The spiritual athlete in us is craving water, but we have been too long without replenishment. Guzzling is out. Sipping is in.

Oftentimes, when I am in a dehydrated place I want to hurry and get the nourishment I need and keep running. I just want a quick fix. Other times, the hurt is so deep, the shock so sudden, the disease so debilitating that I MUST lie back in the arms of my Savior and trust Him. This is right where God wants me to be.

I think of a dehydrated child who has been sick all night. We have been told to place an ice chip in the side of their mouth, see how that goes and then place another if their little body was able to absorb it. That’s our God. He tells us a truth, places it in our mouth and sees if we are absorbing it. He gives us a sip of truth because the precision is too much for us otherwise. The well of God is too deep for us in a normal circumstance, but when we are dehydrated we are willing to sit and sip. He places a truth within us like…

“I’m here.”

“I am always good.”

“I see you.”

“Forgive.”

“I am your strength.”

“I love them even more than you do.”

“I love you.”

“I am your Healer.”

“Pray.”

“You are NEVER alone.”

“Trust Me.”

“I AM…”

 

Whatever truth we need, He places it gently into the side of our mouths and helps us to absorb it into the core of our being. We are so thirsty and we want to guzzle, but some wells are just too deep.

I want to quote verses to Him like Psalm 81:10, “…Open your mouth wide and I will fill it.” God’s response to me is, “Not this time. Be still and learn. Rest in me, sip.”

Some wells must not be taken in too quickly. Some truths must be sipped to be absorbed. God uses these times of spiritual emptiness to place His truth into our very bones. Some lessons can only be taught when all other voices are gone, when you are so dependent on His next drop of moisture that your senses are only alert to Him, His voice, and His rain.

Dehydration is never good, but God uses this place as He uses all things for the greater good (Romans 8:28). He takes these times of need and places us in His arms to take the burdens that we would otherwise never give up. He looks at us drenched in sweat and dehydrated to the core and says, “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me…you shall find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy, and My load is light,” Matthew 11:28-30.

When the truth He is teaching enters our bodies and truly has been absorbed, our Great Physician will take us by the hands and gently pull us up. We are rehydrated, but still weak. He will look us in the eye and keep placing that truth deep into our souls, the truth that He has been whispering to us all along. When we are able to stand once again, He will take us by the elbow and help us along our path until we are able to walk, and finally, to run. That is our God. That is our sweet Savior, always teaching, always giving us strength. As we make our way on the road once again fully hydrated and fully restored, we have His voice still in our ear, “I am here. I am good. I am your Healer. I am the Great Restorer. I love him even more than you do…” Whatever lesson we were taught is in the very core of our being maturing and bearing fruit. We were so empty and the well was too deep to do anything but sip. But, sip we did. Restored we are. Running once again and knowing that our Savior restores, redeems and refreshes with sips for all who are willing to lie in His arms and trust.

If it’s your time to sip, rest in the fact that God is faithfully holding you, teaching you, restoring you. He will NEVER leave you or forsake you (Hebrew 13:5), and remember that some truths are just too important to gulp. Some wells are just too deep to do anything but sip.

